Up until October, Mom was a bit of a fitness freak. I loved when Mom would put the stereo on and pull out the yoga mat to work out. I always helped. I was her spotter.

Well last night, she restarted her nightly routine of working out as soon as she gets home from work. I was just minding my own business when all of sudden, I saw her with the yoga mat in her hands. I almost fainted from shock and excitement. I flew off the couch to help her.

This is what it looks like when I help:

1398010_10102352435512221_521796755_o

10628352_10103083211032221_8613420047619676975_n

Because I’m “overweight”, Mom said she’s going to start bench pressing me if I continue attacking her during the ab portion of her workouts.

Speaking of me being “overweight”, I suppose it’s time I put it out there. You know…the number. I weigh in at 24.2 lbs. My doctor wants me at 18 lbs. That’s 6.2 lbs I have to lose!!!!!

It’s been about 2 weeks since dad gave us biscuits. Our sole treats are baby carrots now. My breakfast and dinner is mixed with green beans (it’s been this way for about a year and a half). I run ALL THE TIME! How in the world am I going to lose 6.2 lbs???

I’m already on low calorie food. The only thing Mom could do differently with my food is put me on Hill’s Metabolic Diet (it’s 35 calories less than Hill’s Science Diet Adult Light) but she said that it is waaaaaay out of her financial budget. Quite frankly, I don’t want it. I sat with her while she looked at that website and I think I would starve to death. Plus, I have a friend in South Africa named Genis and he is NOT a fan! Even though, he is losing weight and looks great, he is always talking about how awful his diet food is. I’ll pass!

This is how I looked when I first lost weight in November 2013:

1455987_10102269166668651_1354962704_n

You will notice just how thrilled I looked.

If you have any suggestions for me that don’t involve eating yucky food, starving to death, or swimming, I’m all ears!

About noodle4president

I was a discarded, lost little stray without a house or a family...until my mom found me. Now, I am the happiest, most loved dog in the whole world!

16 responses »

  1. colinandray says:

    Hi Noodly Schmoodly! If you like carrots, then you might like Kale stems, celery, parsnip, green beans, apples, small pieces of clementines and my all time favourite ….. rutabaga! I get a lot of treats between meals but they are usually one of the above. I also get 2 meals a day of GO Shine & Sensitivity food at 2×2/3 cup per meal (for my 75lbs). Perhaps there are some ideas here for you. Woof! Ray. My Dad just reminded me that if I have a lot of normal treats like cookie bits, Zukes etc., then they cut back on my 2 meals just a little.

    Like

    • I’m all for trying those snacks. That food is waaaay too high in calories though. My current food is 295kcal/cup and GO is 427kcal/cup. *sigh*

      Like

      • colinandray says:

        Perhaps you need some long walks? My Dad used to coach runners and he says that short sprints don’t do too much for fat burning. The longer activity levels (20mins +) are much better. Mum just reminded me that I also like peas……….. and because they don’t fill the measuring cup, I am getting 2-1/2 cups of GO a day total which is for a “low activity” dog of my size. Also, just a thought,…. are you giving your Mum and Dad “the eyes” during the day so that you get more treats than you perhaps think? Do they give you tidbits of people food? It all adds up Noodly buddy!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Mom used to take me on long walks. She can’t right now bc of the time change. It’s pitch black when she leaves for work and when she gets home. Dad has trouble with his feet and can’t walk distances. I definitely don’t get extra snacks. Well…ok, Dad sneaks me stuff. Mom is always yelling at him 😦

    Like

  3. Cupcake says:

    You’re a great yoga partner, N. Treat restriction is torture. I weigh 22, but if I gain a pound (or 2) Mom puts me on treat restriction or gives me ONE CHEERIO! Brutal! Good luck, buddy.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

    Like

  4. wagsahoy says:

    Good luck, Noodle! I wish I had suggestions. I could lose about 1lb myself…

    Liked by 1 person

  5. colinandray says:

    C’mon you guys. Am I the only one who is not overweight? (Maybe ‘cos I haven’t been to the vets for a weigh in!!!!!!!!!).

    Liked by 1 person

  6. colinandray says:

    Gotta go guys. My Dad wants his laptop back so that he can shut it down and get some “beauty sleep”! Yeh right ……… like that will help him! Nice gabbing! Woof! Ray.

    Like

  7. Genis says:

    Noodle my mate, after all these months of following the Hills Metabolic Diet I have to admit that the pros outweigh the cons by far. I’m feeling so much healthier and this sexy new look – I can just get used to it! Tell your mom that the diet is not really that expensive; we buy a 4kg bag every 40 days (I have a 50g portion in the mornings and again at night). Besides that, Hills give us discount for every bag and I also receive very nice prezzies from them when I reach a new milepost. I also have carrots and green beans for lunch. Swimming is very good exercise – try it. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. This was like reading the weight loss post I did for Chase not too long ago. We are experiencing the same issues as you! And Chase also enjoys getting in my way when I am on my exercise mat.

    Personally, I think 6 lbs overweight is fine, you look great and you are doing everything right! Just like with people, you can’t expect everyone to be a size 0, nothing wrong with a size 12… not all dogs are going to be that perfect weight! As long as you are healthy, active and happy, don’t worry about it!

    Chase on the other hand would be considered “obese” at this point, so I am currently aiming for overweight LOL 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  9. My Mom is more concerned about my hips than my appearance. *sigh* stupid hips…

    Thanks for stopping by and for the confidence boost. Tell Chase carrots are awesome 🙂

    Like

What are your thoughts?

